spicy sweet potato soup

I am fairly certain I’m days away from a full-blown flu, the emerging details of which I will spare you. This soup is kind of indicative that I have given up on warding off the inevitable, evidence being the generous hand with the chili-garlic paste; sinuses, are you still with me? I included the extra garlic because it’s a known immune-system booster, and also because I was too lazy to make my own stock. The cinnamon gives this soup a warm undertone, and the combination of flavours goes nicely with melty cheese.

Sweet potato soup (serves 2-3)

1 sweet potato, scrubbed and diced, skin on

2 whole cloves garlic, peeled

2 T tomato paste

1 or 2 tsp thai chili-garlic paste (I used Sambal… I also used a lot more than 2 tsp, but that’s another matter)

cinnamon

corn (I used a 12oz can)

splash white wine vinegar

salt

Put first five ingredients into pot and add enough water to cover, or about 1 litre. Bring to a boil and simmer until potatoes are soft, about 20 minutes. Using blender or immersion mixer, blend until smooth. Add corn, vinegar (go easy!) and salt to taste.

I ended up stirring some chevre through this so it melted, and dipping buttered toast in to sop up all the spice.

1 comment
  1. Leanne said:

    Why are you sparing us details? Post immediately.

Leave a Reply

