coconut cornbread

Less than twenty-four hours until this semester is finally over! I’m so jazzed on the idea of being halfway through this degree that I haven’t bothered doing any work for the past two days! I’m pretty much screwed, but I’m feeling very optimistic despite this. So much so, in fact, that I’ve spent the day spring cleaning, taking “study breaks” to traipse around my downtown neighbourhood in summer attire (hello, denim jacket! Nice to see you again, bare feet!), and baking.

Sorry, Leanne. This one would definitely kill you. You see how I try not to use two thirds of my top three favorite-ingredients-of-all-time list each time we actually share food? (that would be coconut, almonds, and beans, by the way).

Anyway, I’m trying to empty out my cupboards as I am vacating for the season in two weeks. Cornmeal is admittedly not  something I made much use of this year, so I’ve still got quite a bit of this left to get through. This recipe comes from here, and I followed it fairly closely. The bread it bakes into is moist and just barely sweet, which was basically what I was hoping for.

Coconut Cornbread

1 C unsweetened, shredded coconut

1 C coarse cornmeal

1 C whole wheat flour

1 T baking powder

1/2 t salt

1/4 C firmly packed brown sugar

1.5 C coconut milk (1 can)

1 egg

DIRECTIONS

Toast the coconut and let cool.

Combine coconut, cornmeal, flour, baking powder, salt, sugar.

Whisk together coconut milk and egg in separate bowl. Mix into dry mixture.

Pour into baking pan (original recipe says 9×9, but I used a rectangular one instead. even though while squares are rectangles, rectangles are not squares…it was fine). Bake 15 minutes or until toothpick inserted in centre comes out clean.

1 comment

Leave a comment